You are in site section: Prime Ministers of Australia

Prime Ministers of Australia

Australia has had 27 prime ministers since Federation in 1901. Follow the links below to learn about their lives and the times in which they lived.

The National Museum of Australia has a range of objects related to prime ministers.

For information on the current Prime Minister Tony Abbott, please visit the official Prime Minister's website.

Prime ministers are listed in order from earliest to latest, starting with Edmund Barton.

Edmund Barton
Alfred Deakin
fisher thumbnail
Cook thumbnail
Bruce thumbnail
Fadden thumbnail
Curtin thumbnail
Forde thumbnail
Chifley thumbnail

The National Museum of Australia reflects on the social history and material culture relevant to Australia's prime ministers. For the three most recent prime ministers see the linked websites: