Skip to content
  • 9am–5pm
  • Free general admission
  • Shop

Each year, the Australian of the Year Awards recognise and celebrate the achievements and contributions of outstanding Australians across four categories.

The awards operate in several stages. They start at the community level, with nominations being invited from the public. State and territory selection panels choose finalists in each of the four award categories, announced from October to November each year.

The final stage is when the board of the National Australia Day Council chooses the national recipients, announced on the eve of Australia Day each year.

Listed below are the 2019 state and territory recipients of other award categories.

Senior Australian of the Year

Rewarding Australians aged 60 and over who continue to achieve and contribute

  • Dr Suzanne Packer AM, paediatrician and child advocate, Australian Capital Territory
  • Heather Lee OAM, athlete, New South Wales
  • Charlie King OAM, human rights campaigner, Northern Territory
  • Professor James Dale AO, scientist, Queensland
  • Reg Dodd, reconciliation advocate, South Australia
  • Sally Wise, cookbook author, Tasmania
  • Alison Harcourt, STEM pioneer, Victoria
  • Mr Mallard, Elder, ex-serviceman and volunteer, Western Australia

Young Australian of the Year

Profiling exceptional young Australians aged 16 to 30

  • Hannah Wandel, change agent for young rural women, Australian Capital Territory
  • Jarrod Wheatley, social entrepreneur, New South Wales
  • Danzal Baker, rapper and dancer, Northern Territory
  • Angel Dixon, model and activist for disability inclusion, Queensland
  • Eleni Glouftsis, Australia's first female AFL field umpire, South Australia
  • Kirby Medcraft, assistant principal, Tasmania
  • Dr Skye Kinder, doctor, Victoria
  • Noelle Martin, feminist, activist and law reformist, Western Australia

Australia's Local Hero

Acknowledging extraordinary contributions made by Australians in their local community

  • David Williams, disability advocate, Australian Capital Territory
  • Sophie Smith, founder of Running for Premature Babies Foundation, New South Wales
  • Kate and Tick Everett, advocates against bullying, Northern Territory
  • Elijah Buol, advocate, Queensland
  • Megan McLoughlin, advocate for organ donation, South Australia
  • Vicki Purnell, volunteer, Tasmania
  • Carol Matthews, bushfire survivor and activist, Victoria
  • Professor Cheryl Kickett-Tucker, basketballer and researcher, Western Australia
Return to Top