Skip to content
  • 9am–5pm
  • Free general admission
  • Shop

Each year the Australian of the Year Awards honour an exceptional group of highly respected Australians who ignite discussion and change on issues of national importance.

How are the winners chosen?

The awards operate in several stages. They start at the community level, with nominations being invited from the public. State and territory selection panels choose finalists in each of the four award categories, with one person being announced as the state or territory award recipient.

The final stage is when the Board of the National Australia Day Council chooses the four Australians of the Year, announced on the eve of Australia Day each year.

Four largely clear glass trophies with text 'Australian of the Year' and a small coloured glass tab top left. - click to view larger image

A special trophy is given to each recipient across the four Australian of the Year Award categories.

The trophies are designed and produced by staff and students of the Glass Workshop at the Australian National University.

This exhibition was developed by the National Museum of Australia in collaboration with the National Australia Day Council. Images supplied by the National Australia Day Council.

Return to Top