Skip to content
  • 9am–5pm
  • Free general admission
  • Shop

Each year, the Australian of the Year Awards honour an exceptional group of highly respected Australians who ignite discussion and change on issues of national importance.

How are the winners chosen?

Four pale-blue glass trophies with faceted fronts. Each trophy has a different colour glass feature top left.  - click to view larger image
Australian of the Year Awards 2020 trophies

The awards operate in several stages. They start at the community level, with nominations being invited from the public. State and territory selection panels choose finalists in each of the four award categories, announced from October to November each year.

The final stage is when the board of the National Australia Day Council chooses the national recipients, announced on the eve of Australia Day each year.

A special trophy is given to each recipient across the four Australian of the Year Award categories.

The trophies are designed and produced by staff and students of the Glass Workshop at the Australian National University.

This exhibition was developed by the National Museum of Australia in collaboration with the National Australia Day Council. Portrait images supplied by the National Australia Day Council.

Return to Top