Skip to content

See Plan your visit for important visitor and safety information including a request to provide your first name and a contact number.

  • Open
  • Free general admission

Each year, the Australian of the Year Awards honour an exceptional group of highly respected Australians who ignite discussion and change on issues of national importance.

Senior Australian of the Year

Rewarding Australians aged 65 and over who continue to achieve and contribute.


Dick Telford, sports scientist and coach, Australian Capital Territory

Dr John Knight AM, doctor and altruist, New South Wales

Sister Anne Gardiner AM, community champion, Northern Territory

Professor Perry F Bartlett FAA, neuroscientist, Queensland

Patricia Buckskin, educator, South Australia

Margaret Steadman, sustainable living advocate, Tasmania

Lois Peeler AM, Indigenous educator, Victoria

Peter Kenyon, social entrepreneur, Western Australia

Young Australian of the Year

Profiling exceptional young Australians aged 16 to 30.


Heidi Prowse, cystic fibrosis champion, Australian Capital Territory

Arthur Alla, reconciliation champion, New South Wales

Bridie Duggan, healthy living advocate, Northern Territory

Taj Pabari, inventor and social entrepreneur, Queensland

Paul Vasileff, fashion designer, South Australia

Mitch McPherson, suicide prevention leader, Tasmania

Jason Ball, diversity and inclusion champion, Victoria

Abdullahi Alim. Social innovator, Western Australia

Australia’s Local Hero

Acknowledging extraordinary contributions made by Australians in their local community.


Stasia Dabrowski OAM, soup kitchen volunteer, Australian Capital Territory

Josephine Peter, volunteer, New South Wales

Tejinder pal Singh, food van founder, Northern Territory

Yasmin Khan, diversity champion, Queensland

Reginald George Heading, agriculturalist, South Australia

Anthony Edler, youth worker, Tasmania

Vicki Jellie, community fundraiser, Victoria

June Oscar AO, community and social wellbeing campaigner, Western Australia

How are the winners chosen?

The awards operate in several stages. They start at the community level, with nominations being invited from the public. State and territory selection panels choose finalists in each of the four award categories, announced from October to November each year.

The final stage is when the board of the National Australia Day Council chooses the national recipients, announced on the eve of Australia Day each year.

Return to Top