Skip to content

See Plan your visit for important visitor and safety information including a request to provide your first name and a contact number.

  • Open
  • Free general admission
A graphic depicting four glass trophies
2018 Australian of the Year Awards trophies. Photo: Australian National University

A special trophy is given to each state and territory recipient across the four Australian of the Year Award categories.

For 2018 a new design was commissioned as part of a special partnership between the National Australia Day Council and the Australian National University.

Produced by the ANU School of Art and Design, the glass was cast in moulds created using 3-D printing technology, then handworked and polished.

The multifaceted design represents the many elements that shape Australian society, embodying a nation that is confident in its leadership, contemporary in its outlook and distinguished by its diverse community.

The brilliant blue colour symbolises the Australian sky, under which we are united, and the splashes of colour identify the category for which the trophy is awarded. Red for Australian of the Year, green for Senior Australian of the Year, yellow for Young Australian of the Year and blue for Australia’s Local Hero.

Return to Top