Skip to content

See Plan your visit for important visitor and safety information including a request to provide your first name and a contact number.

  • Open
  • Free general admission

Each year, the Australian of the Year Awards honour an exceptional group of highly respected Australians who ignite discussion and change on issues of national importance.

Senior Australian of the Year

Recognising Australians aged 65 and over who continue to achieve and make a difference.


Banduk Marika AM, artist, cultural activist and environmental advisor, Northern Territory

Peter Dornan AM, men’s health advocate, Queensland

Sue Lennox, environmental educator, New South Wales

Sylvia McMillan, volunteer, South Australia

Sue Salthouse, leader and disability advocate, Australian Capital Territory

Dr Graeme Stevenson, Landcare activist, Tasmania

Dr Raymond Shuey APM, road safety champion, Victoria

Professor John Newnham AM, obstetrician, Western Australia

Young Australian of the Year

Celebrating inspiring 16 to 30 year olds who have accomplished great things.


Taya Davies, youth worker and volunteer, Victoria

Corey Tutt, Indigenous mentor and fundraiser, New South Wales

Madeline Diamond, sustainability advocate, Australian Capital Territory

Zibeon Fielding, runner, cyclist and fundraiser, South Australia

Will Smith, social justice activist, Tasmania

Yarlalu Thomas, medical student, Western Australia

Ashleigh Barty, Professional tennis player, Queensland

Australia’s Local Hero

Acknowledging people making a difference in their local community.


Adjunct Assistant Professor Nick Marshall, founder of Albatross Nippers, Queensland

Julia Rollings, foster carer, Australian Capital Territory

Bernie Shakeshaft, founder of BackTrack Youth Works, New South Wales

Shirleen Campbell, family and domestic violence activist, Northern Territory

Emmah Money, cystic fibrosis ambassador, South Australia

Thomas Windsor, men’s health advocate, Tasmania

Josephine Jones, environmental and litter prevention advocate, Victoria

Suzy Urbaniak, science educator, Western Australia

How are the winners chosen?

The awards operate in several stages. They start at the community level, with nominations being invited from the public. State and territory selection panels choose finalists in each of the four award categories, announced from October to November each year.

Four pale-blue glass trophies with a faceted fronts. Each trophy has a different colour glass feature top left.  - click to view larger image
Australian of the Year Awards 2020 trophies

The final stage is when the board of the National Australia Day Council chooses the national recipients, announced on the eve of Australia Day each year.

A special trophy is given to each recipient across the four Australian of the Year Award categories.

The trophies are designed and produced by staff and students of the Glass Workshop at the Australian National University.

This exhibition was developed by the National Museum of Australia in collaboration with the National Australia Day Council. Portrait images supplied by the National Australia Day Council.

Return to Top