Skip to content
  • Open today 9am–5pm
  • Free general admission

We are updating our new website in stages. This page will be changed to the new design but is not currently optimised for mobile devices.

You are in site section: Exhibitions

Finalists in other categories

Each year, the Australian of the Year Awards recognise and celebrate the achievements and contributions of outstanding Australians across four categories, including Australian of the Year.

Senior Australian of the Year

Rewarding Australians aged 65 and over who continue to achieve and contribute

Young Australian of the Year

Profiling exceptional young Australians aged 16 to 30

Australia’s Local Hero

Acknowledging extraordinary contributions made by Australians in their local community

How are the recipients chosen?

The awards operate in several stages. They start at the community level, with nominations open to the public year-round. State and territory selection panels assess and identify finalists in each of the four award categories, announced at events held from October to November each year.

The final stage is when the board of the National Australia Day Council review all 32 national finalists and select four national recipients, announced on the eve of Australia Day each year.

If you would like to find out more, or even nominate someone for the 2018 awards, please visit the Australian of the Year website.

This exhibition was developed by the National Museum of Australia in collaboration with the National Australia Day Council. Portrait images courtesy National Australia Day Council.

Return to Top