Skip to content

See Plan your visit for important visitor and safety information including a request to provide your first name and a contact number.

  • Open
  • Free general admission

Each year, the Australian of the Year Awards honour an exceptional group of highly respected Australians who ignite discussion and change on issues of national importance.

Senior Australian of the Year

Rewarding Australians aged 65 and over who continue to achieve and contribute.


Professor Greg Tegart AM FTSE, scientist and technology advocate, Australian Capital Territory

Professor Gordian Fulde, doctor, New South Wales

Bob Shewring, repatriation campaigner, Northern Territory

Tim Fairfax AC, philanthropist, Queensland

Monica Oliphant AO, scientist, South Australia

Professor Ian Allison AO AAM, glaciologist, Tasmania

Jack Charles, Indigenous elder and role model, Victoria

Graham Edwards AM, veterans' advocate, Western Australia

Young Australian of the Year

Profiling exceptional young Australians aged 16 to 30.


Nipuni Wijewickrema, social entrepreneur, Australian Capital Territory

Melissa Abu-Gazaleh, youth advocate, New South Wales

Benjamin Masters, musician and impresario, Northern Territory

Nic Marchesi and Lucas Patchett, social entrepreneurs, Queensland

Arman Abrahimzadeh, domestic violence campaigner, South Australia

Zac Lockhart, mental health advocate, Tasmania

Robert Gillies, social enterprise founder, Victoria

Catherine Hughes, immunisation champion, Western Australia

Australia’s Local Hero

Acknowledging extraordinary contributions made by Australians in their local community.


Peter Cursley, newborn care champion, Australian Capital Territory

Dr Catherine Keenan, youth educator, New South Wales

David Taylor, homeless mentor and arts advocate, Northern Territory

Michael Ross, land rights activist, Queensland

Claire Foord, stillbirth educator, South Australia

Raymond Arnold, artist and entrepreneur, Tasmania

Rebecca Scott, social entrepreneur, Victoria

Dr Stephen Langford, flying doctor, Western Australia

How are the winners chosen?

The awards operate in several stages. They start at the community level, with nominations being invited from the public. State and territory selection panels choose finalists in each of the four award categories, announced from October to November each year.

The final stage is when the board of the National Australia Day Council chooses the national recipients, announced on the eve of Australia Day each year.

Return to Top