Skip to content
  • Open today 9am–5pm
  • Free general admission

We are updating our new website in stages. This page will be changed to the new design but is not currently optimised for mobile devices.

You are in site section: Exhibitions

Finalists in other categories

Each year, the Australian of the Year Awards recognise and celebrate the achievements and contributions of outstanding Australians across four categories (including Australian of the Year). The following are the 2016 state and territory finalists:

Senior Australian of the Year

Rewarding Australians aged 65 and over who continue to achieve and contribute

Young Australian of the Year

Profiling exceptional young Australians aged 16 to 30

Australia’s Local Hero

Acknowledging extraordinary contributions made by Australians in their local community

How are the winners chosen?

The awards operate in several stages. They start at the community level, with nominations being invited from the public. State and territory selection panels choose finalists in each of the four award categories, announced from October to November each year. The final stage is when the board of the National Australia Day Council chooses the national recipients, announced on the eve of Australia Day each year.

If you would like to find out more, or even nominate someone for the 2017 awards, please go to

Return to Top