You are in site section: Prime Ministers of Australia

Tony Abbott

Tony Abbott

Prime Minister from 18 September 2013 to 14 September 2015

Tony Abbott

A long-serving and prominent minister in the former Howard Government, Anthony John 'Tony' Abbott became Australia's 28th prime minister after the Liberal-National Party coalition won the 2013 general election.

The former seminarian and staunch advocate for the monarchy campaigned on conservative values, which guided some of his projects as prime minister: a religious-only school chaplaincy program; the reinstatement of the knights and dames honours system; and the creation of a 'green army', similar in structure to Work for the Dole.

The Abbott government spent early time in office repealing Labor reforms, such as the Clean Energy Act, and heightening a focus on national security and free trade. Merging the functions of Customs and Immigration, it also created a new agency, Border Force, as part of an attempt to 'stop the boats' of asylum seekers travelling to Australia by sea.

As Prime Minister, Abbott faced criticism for his use of 'captain's calls', unilateral decisions on staffing and policy initiatives, and was successfully challenged in the party room by former leader Malcolm Turnbull in 2015.

In 2018, Abbott remained in Parliament as the Member for Warringah.

You may also be interested in

Cartoon of a man
Collection Explorer
Explore the Museum's collection of objects linked to prime ministers
Painting of a formal gathering
Defining Moments
Learn about key events in Australian history or suggest your own
View of a large white building and sprawling grounds
Australian Prime Ministers
Tony Abbott at the Museum of Australian Democracy