You are in site section: History & ideas

2010 Student Prize in Environmental History and History of Australian Science

The winners

This prize, which is administered by the Australian Academy of Science and supported by the NMA, offers an award of $2500 for the best essay in environmental history or the history of Australian science by a research student. This prize was first awarded in 2006.

The 2010 prize was announced in May and went to Luke Keogh of the University of Queensland for an essay entitled 'Duboisia Pituri - A Natural History'. The prize was presented on Thursday 6 May by Dr John Passioura, FAA on behalf of the Australian Academy of Science, and Dr Mat Trinca, acting Director of the National Museum of Australia.

The judging panel in 2010 was chaired by Dr Rachel Ankeny, the Chair of the Academy's National Committee for History and Philosophy of Science. The National Museum of Australia was represented on this panel by Dr Mike Smith from the Museum's Centre for Historical Research and by Dr Libby Robin, a co-editor of Historical Records of Australian Science.