You are in site section: Exhibitions

Torres Strait map

Torres Strait map

WARNING: Visitors should be aware that this exhibition includes images and names of deceased people that may cause sadness or distress to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples.

The Torres Strait Islands

The Torres Strait Islands are spread across the narrow waterway between the northernmost tip of Australia and the southern shores of Papua New Guinea.

A map of the Torres Strait Islands

Island groups

There are five geographically and culturally distinct main regions or island groups.

Top Western: Saibai, Boigu, Dauan and Buru

Eastern: Ugar, Erub and Mer group (including Dauar and Waier)

Central: Masig, Poruma, Warraber, Iama, Zegey, Tudu, Aurid, Damut, Mukuva and Gebar

Near Western: Badu, Mabuiag, Moa and Nagir

Inner: Muralug, Waiben, Kiriri, Tuined, Mori and Ngurupai.

Learn more about each island on the Gab Titui website

Thursday Island, Torres Strait.
Thursday Island, Torres Strait. Photo: George Serras.
Mabuiag Island and surrounds, Torres Strait.
Mabuiag Island and surrounds, Torres Strait. Photo: George Serras.