You are in site section: About us


Executive management is comprised of the Director, Chief Operating Officer and two Assistant Directors. They collectively provide strategic and operational leadership to the National Museum.

New National Museum of Australia Director

Attorney-General and Minister for the Arts, Senator The Honourable George Brandis QC, announced the appointment of Dr Mathew Trinca as Director of the National Museum of Australia, in a media release on 20 February 2014.

Read the full media release on the Attorney-General's website

Director, Dr Mathew Trinca

Mathew Trinca

Dr Mathew Trinca is the Director of the National Museum of Australia. His current term of appointment is from 17 February 2014, for a period of five years.

Mathew was the Acting Director of the National Museum from 2 July 2013.

Since 2006, Mathew has been the Museum's Assistant Director, Collections, Content and Exhibitions, with responsibility for collections acquisition, management and preservation, redevelopment of permanent galleries, temporary and travelling exhibitions, and curatorial and research activities.

Mathew has a PhD in history from the University of Sydney and is also a graduate of the University of Western Australia. He has research interests in the social and cultural relationships between Britain and Australia, and in museological theory and practice.

Mathew joined the National Museum as a senior curator in 2003, after working as a history curator and manager of the MuseumLink program at the Western Australian Museum, in Perth. He previously worked as a consultant for public history projects including conservation plans, exhibition developments and short documentary films. Mathew has published papers on the history of Australian travel to London, on museums and their meaning, and has co-edited two books, Country: Visions of Land and People in Western Australia and Under Suspicion: Citizenship and Internment in Australia during World War II. He is also presently the Secretary of Museum's Australia's National Council Executive.

The Director of the National Museum of Australia is appointed under Section 23 of the National Museum of Australia Act 1980.

Acting Chief Operating Officer, Operations, Stephanie Bull

Stephanie Bull

Stephanie joined the Museum in 2004, initially managing the Museum’s exhibitions and gallery redevelopment program before moving into the field of international exhibitions and partnerships. In recent years, Stephanie has managed the Museum’s governance program, overseeing business planning, reporting and performance. Stephanie worked at the Australian War Memorial for eight years in gallery redevelopment, and commenced her public sector career in the Department of Defence. She has a BA (Hons) in Australian History.

Tel: +61 2 6208 5049
Fax: +61 2 8362 9626

Assistant Director, Audience, Programs and Partnerships, Helen Kon

Helen joined the Museum in May 2011 after working in senior management positions at the National Library of Australia and the State Library of New South Wales. She played a major role in many of the positive changes that have taken place in those institutions through the development of numerous community engagement programs.

Helen Kon

Prior to working in the cultural sector Helen was Education Services Manager in marketing at The Age newspaper. She has also worked in state-wide curriculum consultancy roles and taught at secondary and tertiary levels.

Her wider professional contributions have included membership and chairing of a number of national and state committees, boards and professional associations across the cultural and education sectors.

Tel +61 2 6208 5102
Fax: +61 2 8362 9626

Assistant Director, Collections, Content and Exhibitions, Janda Gooding

Dr Janda Gooding was appointed Assistant Director, Collections, Content and Exhibitions at the National Museum of Australia in August 2014. Previously, she worked at the Australian War Memorial from 2005 to 2014. Janda worked at the Art Gallery of Western Australia from 1979 to 2005, where she curated many thematic, retrospective and survey exhibitions of Australian and international artists. Janda has a PhD in history from Curtin University, a degree in Fine Arts and a Master of Philosophy in Australian Studies from the University of Western Australia.

Janda Gooding

Janda has published extensively on Australian social and cultural history, and art history. More recently she has contributed book chapters to publications on photography and digital technologies, and Thomas Baines and the Augustus Gregory expedition of 1855 to 1857.

Janda has authored two books: Gallipoli Revisited: In the Footsteps of Charles Bean and the Australian Historical Mission, (2009) and Brush with Gondwana: The Botanical Artists Group, Western Australia, (2008).

Tel +61 2 6208 5009
Fax: +61 2 8362 9626