You are in site section: About us

Council and committees

Council of the National Museum of Australia

The Council of the National Museum of Australia is responsible for the overall performance of the organisation, including setting the strategic direction and establishing goals for management. The Council works with senior management in developing, executing, monitoring and adjusting the appropriate strategies.

The National Museum of Australia Act 1980 provides for a Council consisting of a Chair, the Director of the Museum and neither fewer than seven nor more than 10 other members. All members are appointed by the Governor-General and, apart from the Director, are part-time appointees for terms of up to three years, although terms of appointment can be extended. The Director can hold office for a period not exceeding seven years.

Council members are appointed under Section 13(2) of the National Museum of Australia Act 1980.

Members as at 20 February 2014

Daniel Gilbert AM
Daniel Gilbert AM

Mr Daniel Gilbert AM (Chair)
Terms: 5 April 2012 – 4 April 2015 (reappointed)
27 March 2009 – 26 March 2012

Mr Gilbert has many years of experience as a commercial lawyer and company director. Since the mid-1970s he has had extensive involvement with social justice issues through work with community legal centres and public organisations and the arts. In 1992 he established the Gilbert+Tobin Pro Bono practice, which has a strong emphasis on Indigenous issues.

Mr Nicholas Davie
Terms: 25 October 2012 – 24 October 2015 (reappointed)
7 September 2009 – 6 September 2012

Professor Rae Frances
Terms: 30 May 2013 – 29 May 2016 (reappointed)
25 February 2010 – 24 February 2013

Professor Emeritus Andrea Hull AO (Deputy Chair)
Terms: 12 December 2011 – 11 December 2014 (reappointed)
12 December 2008 – 11 December 2011

Mr David Jones
Terms: 30 May 2013 – 29 May 2016 (reappointed)
25 February 2010 – 24 February 2013

Professor Catharine Lumby
Term: 30 May 2013 – 29 May 2016

Mr John Morse AM
Terms: 23 November 2011 – 22 November 2014 (reappointed)
28 November 2008 – 27 November 2011

Dr Barbara Piscitelli AM
Terms: 17 July 2011 – 16 July 2014 (reappointed)
17 July 2008 – 16 July 2011

Mr Peter Yu
Terms: 30 May 2013 – 29 May 2016 (reappointed)
25 February 2010 – 24 February 2013

Executive member

Dr Mathew Trinca, Director, National Museum of Australia
Term: From 17 February 2014, for a period of five years. Dr Trinca was the Acting Director of the National Museum from 2 July 2013.

Audit, Finance and Risk Committee of Council

Terms of reference

  1. To examine and recommend the Museum's annual financial statements for Council's endorsement.
  2. To review internal audit reports on the Museum's activities and, on behalf of Council, monitor action taken.
  3. To consider reports of the Auditor-General on the Museum's operations, advise Council of the implications and monitor action taken.
  4. To advise Council on any other matters referred to it.
  5. To consider the development and implementation of both Budget and off-Budget operational and business strategies.
  6. To review the Museum's identified strategic risks and monitor risk management plans.
  7. To review the Museum's fraud risk assessment and fraud control plan and, on behalf of Council, monitor action taken.

Members as at 26 June 2013

Mr David Jones (Council Member and Committee Chair)

Professor Emeritus Andrea Hull AO (Council Member)

Dr Barbara Piscitelli AM (Council Member)

National Museum of Australia Indigenous Advisory Committee

The primary role of the Indigenous Advisory Committee of the National Museum of Australia Council is to provide expert Indigenous advice to the Council of the Museum regarding the National Museum of Australia's activities that represent and serve the interests of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples and the broader Australian community.

Members as at 26 June 2013

Mr Peter Yu (Council Member and Committee Chair)

Mr Jason Eades

Ms Henrietta Marrie

Mr Russell Taylor

Mr Vic McGrath

Mr Greg Lehman

Ms Irene Stainton