Skip to content
  • Open today 9am–5pm
  • Free general admission

18 May 2012

International Museum Day is a celebration of the crucial work of museums worldwide in collecting and sharing culture and preserving memory.

Today is designated by the International Council of Museums as International Museum Day. This year the focus is on the role of museums in imagining and shaping the future, particularly in dealing with significant issues such as climate change, new media and social responsibility.

Andrew Sayers, Director of the National Museum of Australia, was today announced as the new President of Museums Australia, the key advocacy group for thousands of people who work in and support museums, galleries and cultural centres across Australia.

'Australia has an enormous cultural resource in its many museums. They play a key role in reminding us that every idea and every attitude that we share in contemporary society is grounded in history and connects with previous generations,' said Andrew Sayers, Director of the National Museum and new President of Museums Australia.

Many of the members of Museums Australia work at the national and major institutions in the capital cities, while others, often volunteers, staff tiny, far-flung museums and galleries from Gladstone to Albany.

Regional and community located museums are important partners in the planning for digital connectivity and cultural access to high speed broadband. The new national education curriculum presents special opportunities for life-long learning habits to be formed through access to the national cultural and scientific collections.

The 2013 national conference of Museums Australia will be held in Canberra from 17 to 20 May, 2013, as part of the Canberra centenary celebrations.

'We can expect between 600-700 delegates to the Museums Australia national conference in Canberra to soak up the culture that our city provides and engage in serious discussions about national cultural policy and the workings of the museums industry,' said Carol Cartwright, ACT President of Museums Australia.

For more information: Dennis Grant, National Museum of Australia, 0409 916 481 

Carol Cartwright, Museums Australia, ACT Branch, 0477 644 406

Return to Top