Skip to content
  • Open today 9am–5pm
  • Free general admission

23 March 2005

23 March 2005

The year's best political cartoons - tracing the tsunami, war, free trade and the fall of Latham - go on show at the National Museum of Australia in Canberra tomorrow.

The National Museum's annual political cartooning survey, Behind the Lines, traces the political year that was 2004 with works from cartoonists including Alan Moir, Geoff Pryor, Bill Leak, Warren Brown, David Rowe, Judy Horacek, Ian Sharpe and Peter Nicholson.

Speakers at tomorrow's launch include Herald Sun cartoonist Mark Knight, National Museum curator Guy Hansen and Michael Bowers from the ABC TV Insiders program.

WHAT: Behind the Lines launch and prize ceremony

WHEN: 11.15am, Thursday, March 24, 2005

WHERE: Hall, National Museum of Australia, Canberra

Behind the Lines is a compilation of the best 80 entries from the National Museum's Australian Political Humour Competition. The winning cartoon - which attracts a $5000 prize - will be announced at the launch.

This year's judging panel included Michael Bowers, AAP Canberra bureau chief Maria Hawthorne and The Canberra Times' parliamentary bureau chief Andrew Fraser.

Visitors at each venue will be invited to choose their favourite cartoon for the People's Choice Award.

Behind the Lines is on show in the National Museum's Nation Focus Gallery from March 24 to June 13. Entry is free.

For interviews, cartoons or more information please contact please contact Leanda Coleman on 02 6208 5338, 0438 620 710,; or Sandy Forbes on 02 6208 5351, 0409 916 481

Return to Top